WebOffice HOWTO
Internet Solutions with Performance, Reliability and Service since 1994!  
       Home               About Us               Services               Support               Articles               Contact Us       
WebOffice Basics
WebOffice is an easy to use web-based service for reading e-mail on the go.
Getting Help
Across the top bar, there is a "Help" entry that will give you general tips on using WebOffice. Additionally, throughout the program, you will notice small "?" icons. These will bring up a help window on that specific topic.

Reading E-mail
Upon logging in, by default your Inbox will show up. Just click on the e-mail's "Subject" or "From" address to open it. When you are done reading that e-mail, you can select "Back to INBOX" in the upper and lower right corner of the e-mail, or use the arrow icons next to it to read the next message or previous message.

Deleting E-Mail
There are two steps to deleting e-mail using WebOffice. When reading a message, you can delete it by clicking "Delete" at the top and bottom left of the e-mail. This will mark the message for deletion and move you to your next e-mail, or back to the INBOX screen, if it was the last e-mail. Additionally, from the INBOX listing, you can select multiple messages by clicking the checkbox on the left, and mark them all for deletion by clicking "Delete" at the top or bottom left.

Once marked for deletion, the message will show up on the list with a strike-through. To remove all the e-mails you have marked for deletion, simply click "Purge Deleted" in the upper or lower right of the INBOX listing. Once the e-mail is Purged, it is gone forever and cannot be retrieved.

If you change your mind about deleting a message you had marked for deletion, simply select it and press the "Undelete" button in the upper or lower left of the INBOX listing. Additionally, if you click to read a message marked for deletion, you can select "Undelete" from the upper or lower left of the e-mail itself.

Sending E-Mails
To send a new e-mail, simply select "Compose" from the bar across the top. This will bring up a new window, which looks just like any other e-mail program's mail sending.

Ordering Your INBOX
By default, your e-mails are listed in the order in which they are received by the server, with the top one being the oldest. To sort the listing by the name or address of the sender, simply click on "From" at the top of the listing. The listing can also be sorted by Subject, Date, Size, or Threading. Threading is an intelligent system that attempts to pair up e-mail responses with previous messages. So if you have been corresponding with your brother and sister about "Re: holiday vacation plans", each of these e-mails will be grouped together for easy reference. If you wish to go back to the default ordering, select the "#" from the top of the listing.

Normally, the listing is in alphabetical order or oldest first. To reverse this, simply click on the small arrow icon next to the name of the ordering at the top of the list.

Managing Your E-Mail with Folders
Quite often, you will have e-mails that you wish to save, but don't want cluttering up your INBOX. These can be moved into different folders for safe keeping.

To create a new folder, first bring up the "Folders" listing by pressing the "Folder" button on the top bar. This will bring up your current list of folders. Put a check mark in the checkbox next to your INBOX, then click on the "Choose Action:" pulldown menu and select "Create Folder". You will then be prompted to name this folder. Type in the name you want, then click "OK", and you should now see your new folder in the listing.

When reading a message, you'll see "Move | Copy" at the top and bottom right of the e-mail with a pulldown menu next to it labeled "This message to". Clicking on this pulldown menu will show you a list of folders, select the one you would like to move this message to, then click "Move". The message will be copied into the folder you selected and be marked for deletion from your INBOX. Or you can select "Copy", and it will only be copied, but not marked for deletion from your INBOX. Additionally, from the INBOX listing, you can select multiple e-mails to move or copy in the same fashion.


WebOffice Advanced
WebOffice is designed to be powerful and flexible for even the most demanding power user. These tips barely scratch the surface of WebOffice's abilities. We invite everyone to peruse the options and try things out for themselves. As always, if you have any questions or comments about this whatsoever, don't hesitate to e-mail help@crisp.net. Unlike those giant corporations, every e-mail is read and responded to by a real human being.
Flexible Selection and Manipulation of E-Mails
The INBOX view has some powerful tools. At the top and bottom left are a pair of pulldown menus, the first is "Select:", then second "Mark As:". These tools allow the easy manipulation of e-mails in your INBOX.

The first pulldown, "Select:", will put a checkmark in the boxes according to what you select in the pulldown. For instance, let's say I've read all the mail I want to read, and the rest I want to delete, since it looks like spam. From the "Select:" menu, I choose "Unseen", which will put a checkmark next to each of the e-mails I have not yet read. Then by clicking "Delete", all of those messages will be marked for deletion.

If I wanted to move all the e-mails I've already replied to to a separate folder, I would choose "Answered" from the "Select:" menu, then select the folder from the pulldown on the right side of the screen, and press "Move".

Instead of just deleting or moving, you can use the "Mark as:" pulldown to mark the e-mails in other ways. For instance, I could choose to mark a certain e-mail as "Important", in which case it gets highlighted and a exclamation point in the list.

Checking for New Mail Continuously
If you leave WebOffice open in your web browser, you can have it periodically check for new mail and let you know. Under the "Options" button on the top bar, select "New Mail" from the right hend column. You can then select the amount of time between each refresh from the pull down menu. Then put a check in the box for "Display pop-up", and then click the "Save Options" button. From then on, whenever your browser is displaying your INBOX, it will show a pop-up when you receive new e-mail.

Using a Trash Folder Instead of Marking For Deletion
Some people prefer to move their deleted e-mails to a separate folder, rather than using the mark and purge described above. By going into "Options", then selecting "Deleting and Moving Messages" from the middle column, you can change this behavior.

To change to using a trash folder, put a checkmark next to "When deleting messages, move them to your Trash folder", then click "Save Options". From then on, the e-mails you delete will immediately be moved to your Trash folder, which you can view from the "Folders" area, selected from the top bar. Note: After deleting the first e-mail, you may need to log out and log back in before the trash folder will appear in your folder list.
Frequently Asked Questions
Don't see your question here? Just e-mail help@crisp.net.
Not all my e-mails are here!?
The list of e-mails are only those residing on the server. If you downloaded your e-mail via a POP3 client, such as Outlook Express, Netscape, or Eudora, the e-mails you downloaded are normally removed from the server, so you won't see them here.
WebOffice Secure Login
Username
Password
Google Search
Network Status

Status is Green.
Click Here for status history.



2003 CRISP Network Solutions, Inc.
All services are subject to Terms and Conditions.